MECAME2020 Announcement

MECAME2020 Announcement

Web Site:

Dear colleagues,

After the successful organization of the five previous MECAME conferences, it is with great pleasure to extend a cordial invitation to participate in the 6th Mediterranean Conference on the Applications of the Mössbauer Effect (MECAME 2020) which will be held from June 7 – 11, 2020 at Athens, Greece.

The MECAME 2020 will honour Professor Dr. Eckhard Bill at Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim, Germany. The conference will be organized jointly by The Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (INN) of the National Center For Scientific Research (NCSR) – Demokritos, Athens, Greece and the Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia. 

Conference scope

The aims of MECAME 2020 are to present the results of new investigations and reviews of the applications of Mössbauer effect in various scientific fields, the exchange of ideas, and the promotion of collaboration and mutual understanding among scientists using Mössbauer spectroscopy and related techniques. MECAME 2020 will cover the following topics:

  • Nanomaterials and Thin Films
  • Magnetic and Optical Materials
  • Inorganic, Organometallic and Coordination Chemistry
  • Solid State Chemistry and Physics
  • Materials Science and Industrial Applications
  • Environmental Science and Catalysts
  • Biological and Medical Applications
  • Earth and Planetary Science
  • Synchrotron Mössbauer Spectroscopy

Researchers, scientists, engineers, experts and students around the world, interested in the most recent developments in the field of Mössbauer spectroscopy are cordially invited to participate in MECAME 2020. Young scientists and Ph.D. students are highly encouraged to participate in MECAME 2020. The “Mira Ristić” Young Scientist Best Poster Award will be awarded at the conference.

Organizing committee

  • Yiannis Sanakis (chair), NCSR Demokritos, Athens, Greece
  • Svetozar Musić (co-chair), RBI Zagreb, Croatia,
  • Virender K. Sharma (co-chair), Texas A&M University, USA
  • Tetsuaki Nishida (co-chair), Kindai University, Fukuoka, Japan
  • Eamonn Devlin, NCSR Demokritos, Athens, Greece,
  • Yann Garcia, Université de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgique

Local organizing committee

  • Thomas Bakas, University of Ioannina, Greece
  • Alexis Douvalis, University of Ioannina, Greece
  • Orestis Kalogirou, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Michael Pissas, NCSR Demokritos, Athens, Greece.
  • Charalambos Sarafidis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece